The HDI Problem Management Professional certification is intended for those who wish to gain a working knowledge of industry best practices related to problem management. It is ideal for IT professionals who are working or are planning to work within problem management, whether in a technical, managerial, or operational role.


What You Will Learn:

  • Best practice frameworks and standards for ITSM
  • What service restoration is, in terms of incident and problem management
  • The problem management activity flow
  • The importance of detection, prioritization, and categorization
  • Methods for investigation and diagnosis
  • The roles and responsibilities of the problem management professional
  • Problem management process relationships
  • The interdependencies between incident and problem management
  • The relationships between knowledge management, known errors, and workarounds
  • Proven methodologies for conducting root cause analysis
  • The differences between reactive and proactive problem management
  • Critical success factors and key performance indicators for problem management
  • The problem management road map and how to use it in your organization

Who Should Attend?

  • Individuals who wish to be certified in problem management
  • Individuals who are working or plan to work within problem management, whether in a technical, managerial, or operational role
  • Individuals who are preparing for the HDI Problem Management Professional certification exam


Start Date

End Date

Delivery Location

April 10, 2017

April 11, 2017


June 22, 2017

June 23, 2017


October 30, 2017

October 31, 2017


November 16, 2017

November 17, 2017


Register or Inquire

Course Curriculum

Unit 1: IT Service Management

  • IT Service Management
  • Functions and Processes

Unit 2: Service Restoration Overview

  • Service Restoration
  • Service Restoration Processes
  • Incident and Problem Management
  • Common Process Activities

Unit 3: Problem Management

  • Problem Management Overview
  • Detection and Categorization
  • Investigation and Diagnosis
  • Resolution
  • Closure
  • Major Problem Review

Unit 4: Roles and Responsibilities

  • Primary Problem Management Roles
  • Complementary Roles
  • Responsibility, Accountability, Consulted, and Informed Model

Unit 5: Relationships

  • Relationship to ITSM Processes
  • Relationship to ITSM Functions

Unit 6: Root Cause Analysis (RCA) Techniques

  • Simple RCA Techniques
  • More Complex RCA Techniques

Unit 7:  Measuring Problem Management

  • Metrics
  • Common Problem Management Process Metrics

Unit 8:  Problem Management Road Map

  • Road Map
  • Process Maturity Assessment
  • Process Assessment Report
  • Establishing the Target Maturity Level
  • Creating the Improvement Plan
  • Problem Management Challenges


Register or Inquire

Certification Exam

The certification exam is included with training purchased. It may also be purchased separately. The exam must be completed within 12 weeks of purchase.

The certification exam is based on the HDI Problem Management Professional (HDI-PM) Certification Standard and is delivered online through the HDI Learning Center.

Each exam consists of 65 multiple choice questions and must be completed in 75 minutes. A minimum score of 80 percent is required to pass a certification exam, unless otherwise published. Individuals who achieve the passing score will receive a certificate from HDI acknowledging their accomplishment and a credentialing logo that may be added to signature blocks and business cards.

Our courses are developed from the certification standards and are designed to assist a student in preparing for an HDI certification exam. They reinforce the core concepts of the certification standards and provide skills-building opportunities for the attendees

Exam Weighting

The certification exam is randomly generated from a pool of pre-authorized exam questions. As a result, each certification exam is different. The questions have been classified by the categories of the HDI Standard. The certification exam is designed to test the candidate’s knowledge in each category.

The number of questions presented from each category is based on the certification weighting. When the time available to study prior to taking a certification exam is limited, consider the certification weighting and review the categories with the highest allocations.

The following table represents the weighting for each of the standards categories within the   certification exam. This information is provided to help you focus as you prepare for the exam.

Category Weighting %
IT Service Management 5 %
Service Restoration Overview 10 %
Problem Management Overview 20 %
Problem Management Activities 20 %
Process Measurements 15 %
Roles and Responsibilities 20 %
Developing a Problem Management Road map 10 %

Exam Extensions

A 28-day extension is available for an online exam: details

Exam Retakes

Exam retakes can be purchased for a fee: details

Exam Insurance

Exam insurance now available: details

Contact Us To Purchase

Register or Inquire

Download Brochure

Delivery Method


Public (classroom)

US Locations: $2,100 CAD

($1,595 USD)

Canadian Locations: $1,950 CAD

Virtual Classroom

$2,100 CAD

(self paced)

$1,000 CAD

(private class)
Please Contact Us

Duration: 2 Days